🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI Drops The Pro 200 Cut As ChatGPT Pro Limits Double on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on tech for your team
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned October 30 reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased Work and Codex allowances on its $100, $200 and $500 Pro tiers. The changes took effect October 29; Plus usage and some ChatGPT message limits remain unchanged.
OpenAI canceled a planned usage cut to its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan on October 29, one day before the reduction was due to take effect, and increased Work and Codex allowances across its $100, $200 and $500 Pro tiers. The change gives subscribers more capacity for those tools, but it does not double every ChatGPT limit or change plan prices.
OpenAI’s October 29 release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The company also said it had canceled the Pro 200 reduction announced in a September 29 email. Work and Codex draw from a shared allowance, so additional use of one affects the same pool as the other.
For Pro 200 subscribers who had the lower allowance, OpenAI’s updated help page says that allowance doubled to match the higher one. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it. The page says the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit on Pro 200 now matches the higher limit; the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged.
OpenAI also raised usage for Business Premium, but its release note does not state by how much. OpenAI product executive Thibault Sottiaux said in a post that limits were doubling for Business Premium as well. The company’s help page is more specific about what doubled on the individual Pro plans, so claims about broader limits should be read against those details. Prices and Plus usage did not change, and existing subscribers receive the updated allowances automatically, without waiting for renewal.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
More Capacity, Not Every Limit
The change matters most to subscribers who use ChatGPT Work for longer tasks or Codex for coding work. A larger shared allowance may let them run more work before reaching a usage cap, while the restored Pro 200 allowance avoids the reduction previously scheduled for October 30.
It does not mean every subscriber can send twice as many messages or complete twice as much work. OpenAI says usage varies with the model, task and speed mode. Pro 100 and Pro 500 retain their existing weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, and the change does not increase Plus usage. Business customers also have less precise public guidance because OpenAI’s release note gives no numerical increase for Business Premium.
For people comparing plans, the update makes the price ladder less straightforward: the Work and Codex allowance has changed, but other plan features and limits remain distinct. Users should check the allowance and limits listed for the tier they use rather than treating “doubled” as a plan-wide increase.
Products Worth Considering

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

LG UltraGear 27-Inch QHD OLED Gaming Monitor, 240Hz, 0.03ms, G-SYNC Compatible, FreeSync Premium Pro, HDMI 2.1

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the Pro 200 Cut Was Reversed
The change followed a sequence of plan updates in September. OpenAI paused new sign-ups for Pro 200 on September 10. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux attributed the pause to high demand for GPT-6 Astra, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That statement described demand for the model; it did not provide figures for Pro usage.
On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. Its announcement said included usage allowances were changing and that affected users would receive more detail by email, while the Pro 200 monthly price remained $200. Sottiaux described the plan ladder on X as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, adding that existing subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier “for a bit.” The company’s October 29 reversal canceled the reduction that had been scheduled for the next day.
OpenAI’s release notes and updated help page provide the clearest account of the current plan terms. Sottiaux’s broader post described the increase as covering “all usage limits,” but the help page specifies that Pro 100 and Pro 500’s weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged. The Pro 200 change also differs by subscriber: the lower allowance increased, while people already on the higher allowance retain it.
“We heard your kind feedback.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X
Business Limits Lack a Figure
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not give a numerical amount. Sottiaux said the increase doubles limits, but the company’s written note does not specify a multiplier or detail how the change applies across Business Premium seats.
OpenAI also says actual usage depends on the model, task and speed mode, so the allowance increase cannot be translated into a fixed number of additional tasks or coding sessions. The supplied plan information does not give a complete breakdown of limits for Business Standard, Go or Free; those plans were not mentioned in the October 29 release note. OpenAI has not said in the cited materials whether the revised allowances will remain unchanged beyond the current update.
Check the Updated Plan Allowance
The changes took effect October 29, and OpenAI says existing subscribers receive them automatically without waiting for renewal. Users can check their account’s usage information and the updated Pro help page to see which allowance applies to their tier. No further change or rollout date was given in the source material.
For businesses, the next practical step is to confirm the allowance shown for Business Premium seats and plan against the published terms rather than assuming the same detailed limits as individual Pro tiers. OpenAI may provide more specific Business Premium figures or clarify how its broader wording applies, but no additional announcement was confirmed in the materials available for this update.
Key Questions
What did OpenAI change on October 29?
OpenAI canceled a planned Pro 200 usage reduction and doubled the previous Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500. It also increased the lower Work and Codex allowance on Pro 200 to match the higher one.
Did every ChatGPT Pro limit double?
No. The increase applies to Work and Codex allowances, with a specific Pro 200 adjustment to its lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit. The weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain unchanged.
Did the Pro 200 price change?
No. The plan remains $200 per month. OpenAI canceled the scheduled allowance reduction; it did not announce a price change.
Do existing subscribers need to take action?
No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for their next renewal.
How much did Business Premium usage increase?
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage increased but does not specify a multiplier. Thibault Sottiaux described the change as a doubling in a post, but the official note provides no numerical detail.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
