TL;DR
Get business pricing on tech for your team
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Elon Musk said the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue, but gave no figures or details of any resulting limit change. In the same week, OpenAI set new restrictions on sharing paid accounts and said ChatGPT and Codex will use one shared allowance from December. The announcements point to more metered access, though the companies have not disclosed all the limits or pricing effects.
Elon Musk said on November 1 that serving xAI’s Grok Bot had become “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI announced new restrictions on paid account sharing and plans to combine ChatGPT and Codex usage allowances from December. The statements offer a fresh sign that fixed-price AI subscriptions may come with tighter usage rules, though neither company disclosed the financial details or the full effects on users.
Musk made the statement on X in response to a user asking for a Grok Bot reset after people reported running out of usage quickly that week. He wrote that the cost “was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” He did not provide cost, revenue or margin figures, say what had changed, or announce a new limit, reset or price.
Grok Bot is an xAI agent that performs tasks such as research, writing and browsing. According to xAI’s pricing information cited in the source material, it is included in the Premium, Super and Ultra plans at $30, $100 and $200 a month, respectively. Its use comes from a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and models in the Cursor coding tool. xAI says consumption depends on agent steps, tokens and the demands of each task, rather than simply the number of messages.
OpenAI’s help center says paid accounts face limits on how many accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be bought with one payment card or device. The rules cover Go, Plus and Pro plans, but OpenAI has not published a numerical cap. From December, Plus, Pro and Business customers will draw from a single allowance across ChatGPT and Codex, measured in tokens. OpenAI says unlimited Instant chats remain outside that allowance.
AI Access Briefing · November 2026
How Grok’s Costs And OpenAI’s Rules Could Change Your AI Access
Two announcements point toward more metered access: xAI cited Grok Bot’s high serving costs, while OpenAI outlined paid account-sharing restrictions and a shared ChatGPT–Codex allowance. The full limits and financial effects remain undisclosed.
Subscription prices meet usage meters
A monthly fee can look predictable even when a short chat and a multi-step agent task use very different computing resources.
Cost concern stated
Musk said serving Grok Bot had become costly relative to revenue. He gave no cost, revenue or margin figures and announced no new limit, reset or price.
Paid sharing controls
Limits apply to paid Go, Plus and Pro accounts across devices and payment methods. OpenAI has not published a numerical cap.
One allowance across tools
From December, Plus, Pro and Business customers will use a shared token allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside it.
Task demands can vary widely
Providers describe access in terms of usage pools and tokens. The published details do not yet show how much a typical task will consume.
Agent steps add up
Grok Bot draws from a pool that also covers Grok chat and models in Cursor. xAI says consumption depends on agent steps, tokens and task demands—not simply message count.
Two products, one pool
Codex activity could leave less allowance for ChatGPT, or the reverse, depending on how the shared meter is applied. The numerical allowance has not been provided.
Three OpenAI changes, one cost question
Usage increases and new controls appeared in the same period. A previous pricing episode offers context, but not proof that the companies made the same decisions.
Oct. 29 · Higher limits
OpenAI said it doubled usage limits for Pro tiers and Business Premium. Release notes cited increases for Pro 100 and Pro 500, and cancellation of a planned Pro 200 reduction.
Nov. 1 · Grok costs
Musk described Grok Bot’s service costs as unsustainably high relative to revenue, without announcing a policy change.
Nov. 1 · OpenAI rules
OpenAI outlined account-sharing restrictions and a shared ChatGPT–Codex allowance planned for December.
Earlier precedent
In January 2025, Sam Altman said OpenAI was losing money on its $200 Pro plan because users used it more than expected.
What was said—and what it establishes
The statements describe access and cost concerns, but they do not disclose full plan economics or user-level impact.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”
Elon Musk · X · November 1, 2026
“We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.”
Thibault Sottiaux · X · October 29, 2026
“Any chance for a Grok Bot reset? Lots of people say their usage ran out really fast this week.”
User identified as DogecoinNorway · X
Limits and costs are still undisclosed
Published information leaves important practical questions unanswered, so users and teams cannot yet calculate the full impact.
No confirmed pool change
Musk did not say whether the weekly pool changed, how much use customers receive, or whether a reset or price adjustment is planned.
Allocation explanation unconfirmed
Reports mentioned adjusted allocations and a dashboard fault that overstated usage. The original account post could not be verified in the source material.
No numerical caps supplied
OpenAI has not specified account-sharing caps or the shared token allowance, or detailed how use will be divided between ChatGPT and Codex.
Ask for plan-level usage details
Monthly plans remain in place. Their practical value depends on the limits, resets and task accounting attached to each plan.
Did Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?
No. He described the cost concern but announced no new limit, reset or price.
Which plans share ChatGPT and Codex usage?
Plus, Pro and Business plans are scheduled to use one shared token allowance from December 2026. Unlimited Instant chats remain outside it.
How many paid accounts can share a device or card?
OpenAI has not published a numerical cap in the cited help-center information. Its rules cover paid Go, Plus and Pro accounts.
Are monthly AI subscriptions ending?
The announcements do not say that. They show usage pools and account-sharing rules alongside monthly plans.
Subscription Prices Meet Usage Meters
These changes matter because a monthly price can make AI access look predictable while the cost of providing it varies by task. A short chat and an agent working through a lengthy research task may consume very different amounts of computing resources. xAI describes Grok Bot usage in terms of agent steps and tokens; OpenAI’s planned shared allowance also counts tokens across two products.
For users, a shared pool could mean that Codex activity leaves less allowance for ChatGPT, or the reverse, depending on how OpenAI applies the meter. The company has not given the numerical allowance in the source material. For businesses, the changes make it harder to budget from seat prices alone: teams may need to track consumption and ask vendors for written details on limits, resets and overage costs.
The announcements do not establish that fixed-price subscriptions are ending. They do show providers adjusting how access is allocated while retaining monthly plans. The practical question is how much use each plan includes and how quickly different tasks consume it.
Products Worth Considering

Bose SoundLink Flex Bluetooth Speaker (2nd Gen), Waterproof, Dustproof, USB‑C, Up to 12 hr Battery, Black

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

Bose S1 Pro+ All-in-One PA Speaker
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Three OpenAI Changes in One Week
OpenAI’s announcements included an increase as well as new controls. On October 29, company employee Thibault Sottiaux said on X that usage limits were being doubled for Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business Premium. OpenAI’s release notes, as described in the source material, specify increases for Pro 100 and Pro 500 and say a planned reduction to Pro 200 was canceled. On November 1, OpenAI also described the account-sharing limits and the December shared allowance.
The episode recalls an earlier cost warning from OpenAI. In December 2024, the company launched a $200-a-month ChatGPT plan advertising “unlimited access” to its best models. The following month, CEO Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because users were using them more than expected. The current developments raise a similar cost question, but they do not show that the companies have made the same changes or reached the same financial conclusions.
The underlying economics vary across models and tasks. The source material says OpenAI’s rate card shows its most capable model consumes an allowance about 100 times faster per output token than its cheapest model. That comparison is about token use on the cited rate card; it does not by itself establish the total cost of a particular user’s work.
““The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.””
— Elon Musk, on X, November 1, 2026
Limits and Costs Still Undisclosed
Musk did not say whether xAI changed Grok Bot’s weekly pool, how much usage customers receive, or whether it plans a reset or price adjustment. He gave no figures for Grok Bot’s costs or revenue. Reports have attributed an “adjusted allocations” explanation to Grok’s official account and separately described a dashboard fault that overstated usage; the source material says the original account post could not be verified, so those details remain reported, not confirmed.
OpenAI has not published the number of paid accounts allowed on one device or the number of subscriptions allowed per card or device. It also has not specified the shared token allowance in the material available here, or explained in detail how usage will be allocated between ChatGPT and Codex. The impact on individual users and teams cannot yet be calculated from the announcements alone.
Watch for Plan-Level Usage Details
OpenAI’s shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance is scheduled to begin in December 2026. Customers will need the plan-level limits and usage display to understand how the combined meter affects them. xAI has not announced a date for any Grok Bot policy change or supplied further figures in the cited material. Any change to its weekly pool, reset options or subscription pricing remains unconfirmed.
For now, users can check their account’s usage information before upgrading or buying additional access. Businesses comparing plans can ask each provider to specify allowances, reset schedules and how agent tasks count against them.
Key Questions
Did Elon Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?
No. Musk said serving Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but did not announce a new limit, reset or price.
Which OpenAI plans will share a ChatGPT and Codex allowance?
OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will use one shared token allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December. Unlimited Instant chats remain outside that allowance.
OpenAI has not published a numerical cap in the cited help-center information. It says limits apply to paid Go, Plus and Pro accounts.
Does this mean AI subscriptions are no longer flat-rate?
The announcements do not say that monthly subscriptions are ending. They show providers applying usage pools or account-sharing rules alongside subscription plans; the exact effects depend on plan limits that are not fully disclosed.
Source: Thorsten Meyer AI
