DeepSeek-v4.1-Flash-1017
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tech for your team

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

DeepSeek-AI’s model page describes DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 as a minor update to DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash, with higher scores than its predecessor on the listed reasoning, coding, agent and vision benchmarks. The report also claims shorter execution time and output length, but does not provide independent verification or enough detail to assess the size of those efficiency gains.

DeepSeek-AI has published a technical report for DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017, describing it as a minor update to DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash with higher results on a range of reasoning, coding, agent and vision benchmarks. The report also says the updated model reduces task execution time and output length, claims that could affect users’ speed and inference costs, though the supplied material does not include independent testing or detailed cost measurements.

In the company’s comparison table, DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 scores above the earlier DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash on every listed benchmark for which both versions have results. Examples include Terminal-Bench 4.0, where the new version scores 42.3 against 31.2, and ProgramBench, where it scores 29.1 against 20.3. The table also lists gains on DeepSWE v1.1, NL2Repo-Bench, Automation-Bench v1.0.6 and Agents’ Last Exam.

The report includes three vision evaluations run with tools. The updated model scores 83.0 on Chartography, 92.5 on BabyVision and 51.0 on ZeroBench-main, compared with 78.9, 89.6 and 49.0 respectively for DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash. Results are reported by DeepSeek-AI; the supplied report does not describe an independent audit of the comparisons.

DeepSeek-AI also provides materials for working with the model’s prompt format. The release includes a Python reference implementation and test cases, as well as deepseek-recipe, a Rust toolkit with Python bindings. The report says these tools handle prompt encoding and parsing, while leaving model inference, tool execution and HTTP transport to the user. It lists a recommended context window of 1 million tokens and a minimum max-token setting of 256,000 tokens.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Technical report published in 2026; exa…
The developmentDeepSeek-AI has published a technical report for DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017, presenting it as an improved version of DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash.

Reported Gains Across Model Tasks

If the results hold in independent use, the scores suggest the update may be relevant for developers building software-development and agent workflows, as well as users who need visual task handling. The strongest direct evidence in the supplied material is the side-by-side benchmark table, which shows gains over the prior Flash version across several task categories.

The claimed reduction in execution time and output length could also matter to operators managing latency and inference expenses. However, the report does not give numerical before-and-after measurements, test conditions for those efficiency claims or a price comparison. Readers should treat the performance-and-cost benefit as DeepSeek-AI’s stated result, not as a quantified saving established by the material provided.

Amazon

AI model benchmarking tools

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the Release Is Packaged

The report labels 1017 a minor update to DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash, rather than presenting it as a separately described model family. Its benchmark table compares the two versions alongside other named systems, including K3, GLM-5.3, GPT-5.6, Sol and Opus 5. The supplied material does not explain the evaluation setup for every listed model, so the table is most directly useful for comparing the two DeepSeek versions under the report’s stated benchmarks.

For HLE without tools, the table gives 42.6 for DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 and 36.8 for its predecessor; a dagger marks separate text-only-subset scores of 44.0 and 39.1. DeepSeek-AI says Terminal-Bench 4.0 used the Claude Code harness, while DeepSWE v1.1 used the Mini-SWE-V2 harness. Those details matter because benchmark results can depend on the harness and evaluation conditions.

The repository states that its code and model weights are licensed under the MIT License. It also says the release has no Jinja-format chat template, instead directing users to the Python encoding reference and the maintained deepseek-recipe toolkit. The cited paper title is “DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash: Pushing the Limits of KV Cache Compression,” with DeepSeek-AI listed as author and 2026 as the publication year.

““DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 is a minor update to DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash.””

— DeepSeek-AI, in the technical report

Amazon

large context window AI models

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Efficiency Claims Need Measurements

The material supplied does not specify an exact publication or deployment date, nor does it establish whether the weights are available through a hosted service in addition to the repository. It also does not give before-and-after figures for execution time, output length or cost, making it difficult to judge the practical scale of the claimed efficiency gains.

The benchmark table is presented in DeepSeek-AI’s report, and no independent replication is included in the source material. Details such as evaluation dates, hardware, sample sizes and full scoring procedures are not provided here for every benchmark. The report identifies harnesses for two evaluations, but users should not assume that results across all model entries were produced under identical conditions.

The listed context window and token settings are recommendations, not evidence by themselves of performance or availability in any particular product. The supplied material also does not state whether later model revisions or additional evaluation results have been released.

Amazon

AI development Python toolkit

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Check Weights and Replications

Developers can consult the repository’s inference instructions for weight conversion and local runs, and use the encoding implementation or deepseek-recipe toolkit to prepare prompts. DeepSeek-AI recommends temperature 1.0, top_p 1.0, a 1-million-token context window and max_tokens of at least 256,000; those settings are guidance from the report rather than a guarantee that every deployment supports them.

The next useful evidence would be independent benchmark runs and documented latency, output-length and cost comparisons against DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash under specified workloads. Users considering adoption will also need to confirm compatibility with their inference setup and review the repository for any subsequent updates. The report directs questions to its issue tracker or DeepSeek’s listed service email.

Amazon

vision benchmark datasets

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

What is DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017?

DeepSeek-AI describes it as a minor update to DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash, with reported improvements across reasoning, coding, agent and vision benchmarks.

How does it compare with the earlier Flash model?

In the company’s table, the 1017 version scores higher than DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash on every listed benchmark where both have results. For example, it scores 42.3 versus 31.2 on Terminal-Bench 4.0. These are report figures, not independently verified results in the supplied material.

Does the update reduce costs?

DeepSeek-AI says the model reduces task execution time and output length, which it says can lower costs. The report excerpt provides no numerical cost comparison, so the size of any savings is unclear.

Can developers run the model locally?

The repository points users to instructions for converting weights and running inference locally. It provides a Python prompt-encoding reference and the deepseek-recipe toolkit; users must handle inference and tool execution themselves.

What remains unverified?

The supplied source does not include independent benchmark replication, detailed test conditions for every comparison, or measured before-and-after latency and cost data. It also does not specify an exact release date.

Source: hn

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Meta’s AI Chips And Meta One Strengthen Bank Of America’s Outlook

Bank of America’s positive outlook is reportedly strengthened by Meta’s AI hardware advancements and Meta One platform, according to trend signals and coverage spikes.

Using Product Catalogs To Create Short-Form Social Content

A proposed ecommerce workflow would turn catalog photos and product details into faceless TikTok and Reels videos, then test results across 20 stores.

Why Anthropic’s Memory Integration In AI Is A Game-Changer For Claude And Cowork

Anthropic has integrated shared memory across Claude and Cowork, enabling continuous context and reducing repeated inputs. Details on rollout and controls are pending.

Claude Users, Here’s Why Anthropic’s Auto Mode Is A Game-Changer

Anthropic announces auto mode will become the default setting for Claude starting August 14, but details on operation and affected products remain unclear.